How to apply for grants as a teacher

After writing yesterday about stability balls in the classroom, I realized that I should research how to apply for grants for my future needs in the classroom. There are so many foundations who hand out millions of dollars to teachers each year for everything from class pets to technology or field trips. However, there is an application process for each grant and no grant is guaranteed. For each grant, there are concrete ways to make a pitch. To me, it reminds me of a college application process or a scholarship process. I had to apply for specific reasons and know what that college valued most. You have to know who your target grant is and what they value the most. Since I have never researched the grant process or thought about applying for grants, I figured it would be helpful to start the research now and lay the groundwork for when I might need to as a teacher.

Grants tend to be for a more specific need, like more literacy for the students. For a grant, state that need so businesses know what they are helping you accomplish. Be sure if you are apply to build a classroom library, that it is a classroom that wants to fund literacy. Before you apply for a grant, you could always ask local businesses and see if the district can help you. One of my teachers recently went to Harris Teeter to see if they could provide an extra umbrella for the children to play outside in the sandbox. If it is a major grant, get the permission of your principal or superintendent first. School districts are limited in the number of state and federal grants they can apply for, so always ask permission.

When you apply for a grant, start small, don’t try to get everything in one grant. As a teacher, I’m sure I’ll have many wants, but no grant can fill everything. First, I should decide what I need or want for my classroom and find a grant that will fit that. For that need, I should document why I need it. Anecdotal evidence, test scores, and demographics come in handy during this stage. Afterwards, a background, mission statement about the potential outcome, goals and objectives, timeline, planned assessment tools, required materials, supplies, and the total cost should be included in my application.

In my application process, I should be creative so my application sticks out for the application readers. Colleagues or students can help me decide what I need or what would be the most helpful in my classroom. Colleagues could also help proofread my grant to make sure it stays on topic, uses appropriate headings, and is concise. If my school or local community has grant workshops, I should attend those to learn how to craft a successful grant. Luckily, I have already learned about meeting deadlines and how to motivate myself to produce the best work.

If I get the grant, I should always write the thank you note and send pictures. If I can document the way that the grant will change my classroom, like with a pre-test and a post-test or with specific learning objectives, I should. I may not always get what I need, but there is no harm in trying.

http://www.educationworld.com/a_curr/profdev/profdev039.shtml

–Helpful resource into the application process and all the parts. I would honestly read this after reading my blog post because it goes so much more in-dept and provides so many great resources.

http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/article/teachers-get-grant

–Tips for getting a grant

http://www.edutopia.org/grants-and-resources

-Big List of Educational Grants and Resources

http://712educators.about.com/cs/rubrics/l/blrubricgrant.htm

Grant match rubric that helps tell if you are a match for the grant and should apply

Leave a comment