Summer 2016 and Sylvan Learning

What a summer. From finishing up teaching, to moving to Raleigh for Duke TiP, and then to starting work with Sylvan Learning in Nags Head. Raleigh held so many adventures for me. I visited a dam, went to Chick Fillet’s Cow Appreciation Day, attended a political rally, and went to an arcade. I loved running around Raleigh on all the different trails.

Sylvan Learning in Nags Head was another great part of the summer. I worked at their satellite office and got to teach elementary school reading and SAT Math and Reading. What I loved about Sylvan was how individualized it was for the students and how it really worked to hit their strengths. I liked the one-on-one approach and the different lessons and games. As a teacher, it allowed me to use some of what I taught in my classroom while learning new ideas for what I would teach. The SAT Math and Reading allowed me to keep those skills active and to learn new skills. I also loved being able to go to the beach or pool after work though, I won’t lie!

Up next on this crazy adventure: Sylvan in Williamsburg has hired me! I’ll be teaching STEM in the local schools and SAT Reading for them in October. For now, I’ll be tutoring students in reading at the center and working on my masters at William & Mary. Life is a crazy ride, but I am so thankful for all the opportunities I’m given and for how hard I work. I already miss teaching with my whole heart but I am so thankful for the experience I had.

Leave a Reply

